Press Releases

PRESS RELEASE : Scots recognised in New Year Honours List [December 2022]

The press release issued by the Scottish Office on 30 December 2022.

The Scottish Secretary has congratulated the many people from across Scottish society who have been recognised in the New Year Honours List published today.

Alister Jack said:

This year’s New Year Honours List underlines the outstanding contributions made by Scots to the life of the nation, from public service, through entertaining us and contributing to our cultural heritage, to assisting in Scotland’s recovery from the Covid-19 pandemic and supporting business growth.

It’s great to see recognition of our men’s football captain Andy Robertson [MBE], not just for his efforts on the pitch but for his work with young people. The UK’s Scottish Chief Veterinary Officer Dr Christine Middlemiss [CB] has been deservedly honoured for her work on behalf of the veterinary and farming industries, as has Dr Julie Maxton [DBE], the first female executive director of the Royal Society in its history of over 350 years.

Many Scots have been recognised for their contributions to our cultural landscape. These include Sinclair Barbour from Dumfriesshire [BEM], who for more than four decades has inspired people to participate in and learn the skills of Scottish country dancing; James McEwan from Islay [MBE], four times Master Distiller of the Year and inductee to the Whisky Hall of Fame; and David Sutherland from Dundee [OBE], for services to illustrating the Beano.

This is also, however, an important opportunity to acknowledge the dedication of those who selflessly serve the needs of others in our communities. Among those to have been honoured today are 28-year-old Lucy Lintott from Moray [BEM], for her tireless campaigning and fundraising in aid of tackling Motor Neurone Disease; and 79-year-old Joyce Murray from East Dunbartonshire [BEM] who has served her community for more than five decades – 50 years as a Boys’ Brigade officer and the last twenty years as a trusted school crossing patrol attendant.

My sincerest congratulations go to all who have been recognised today.