Press Releases

PRESS RELEASE : Two solicitor members appointed to the Insolvency Rules Committee [July 2023]

The press release issued by the Ministry of Justice on 17 July 2023.

The Lord Chancellor has approved the appointment of Robert Paterson and Alexander Solicitor Members of the Insolvency Rules Committee.

Robert Paterson is appointed, for three years, from 26 June 2023. Alexander Wood will be appointed, for three years, from 1 October 2023


Robert Paterson

Robert is a partner at Wedlake Bell LLP and specialises in all aspects of restructuring and insolvency law. He acts for officeholders, lenders, directors and creditors. He has recently advised on a number of cross-border insolvencies. Robert spent 6 months on secondment to the Policy Unit of the Insolvency Service. He is also a licensed insolvency practitioner.

Alexander Wood

Alex is a former partner at Shearman & Sterling. He has over 25 years’ experience working on some of the most complex insolvency and restructuring matters including Westinghouse, MF Global, the Lehman Bros cases and the sovereign debt restructures of Ukraine and Argentina. He continues to consult, with Shearman, in addition to undertaking other activities including teaching corporate insolvency at post-graduate level.
The appointment of Solicitor Members of the Insolvency Rules Committee are made under Section 413(4) of the Insolvency Act 1986, by the Lord Chancellor after consulting the Chancellor of the High Court. The appointment is regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments and recruitment processes comply with the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

The Insolvency Rules Committee considers amendments to the rules arising out of a review of secondary insolvency legislation, giving their recommendations to the Lord Chancellor.