Biography information for Eilidh Whiteford – 2014 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Transport

The below Parliamentary question was asked by Biography information for Eilidh Whiteford on Transport.


Mr Robert Goodwill

In England, the Highways Agency has the following 6 Average Speed Camera systems on its network:

M3 (Junction 2) (South East Region)

M3 (from the M25) (South East Region)

M25 (J12) (South East Region)

A14 (East of England)

A38 Saltash Tunnel (South West Region)

A3 Hindhead Tunnel (South East Region)

Average speed cameras are also used in road works as a temporary measure.

The Department for Transport does not hold this information for cameras on local authority roads. Local authorities have statutory duties related to road safety and decisions about whether they operate speed cameras are a matter for them.

This is a devolved matter so the Department does not hold information on average speed cameras in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland.