Press Releases

PRESS RELEASE : Three trustees reappointed to the Science Museum Group [October 2023]

The press release issued by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport on 12 October 2023.

The Secretary of State has reappointed Judith Donovan CBE, Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill and Professor Ajit Lalvani as trustees of the Science Museum Group.

Judith Donovan CBE

Reappointed from 1 September 2023 until 31 August 2027

Judith Donovan is a Yorkshire businesswoman, who started her own direct marketing agency in Bradford.During her 20 years at the helm of a rapidly growing business she also chaired the Training and Enterprise Council and was the first female president of Bradford Chamber of Commerce after 167 years.

Judith is a trustee of the National Army Museum as well as the chair of its trading subsidiary. She is also chair of the Employment Advisory Board for the two Yorkshire women’s prisons as well as chair of Ripon Cathedral Council. Previously she has been a Millennium Commissioner, a Health and Safety Commissioner, vice chair Postwatch, board member British Wool and Yorkshire Dales National Park, and chair of the Yorkshire Tourist Board

She holds CCMI; FIOD; FRSA; FCIM; FIDM; FCAM and honorary degrees from Hull and Leeds Beckett Universities.

Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill

Reappointed from 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2027

Peter, Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill, has been the Chair of Network Rail since July 2015, and Chair of the London Legacy Development Corporation since July 2017. Peter was previously Commissioner of Transport for London for nearly 10 years. He started his transport career in 1975 as a London Transport graduate trainee. He was knighted in the 2013 New Year’s Honours List, having been made CBE in 2006. He was introduced in the House of Lords in December 2022. Peter has a strong interest in transport heritage, and is a Trustee of the London Transport Museum and Chair of the Heritage Railway Association.

Professor Ajit Lalvani

Reappointed from 1 September 2023 to 31 August 2027

Ajit is Chair of Infectious Diseases and Director of the NIHR Health Protection Research Unit in Respiratory Infections at Imperial College London. He develops and deploys scientific advances to protect the nation’s health from the most serious respiratory infections: flu, TB and COVID-19. He translates his discoveries into innovative practical solutions to improve patient care and public health, including new technologies and policies that have helped to halve England’s TB burden. He has raised £40 million research funding and published 200 research papers. He is passionate about reversing health inequalities through tackling the social determinants of health and empowering individuals to improve their wellbeing and resilience, including through the role of the arts.

Ajit is a member of the Board of the English National Opera (ENO) and the Scientific Advisory Council of the College of Medicine. He develops India’s medical research ecosystem through chairing the Strategic Advisory Board of The India Alliance, India’s pre-eminent medical research funding organisation.

Remuneration and Governance Code

Trustees for the Science Museum Group are not remunerated. These appointments have been made in accordance with the Cabinet Office’s Governance Code on Public Appointments.

The Governance Code requires that any significant political activity undertaken by an appointee in the last five years is declared; this is defined as holding office, public speaking, making a recordable donation or candidature for election. Judith Donovan, Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill and Ajit Lalvani have not declared any significant political activity.