Author: admin

  • Julie Cooper – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    Julie Cooper – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by Julie Cooper on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Education, what the teacher to pupil ratio is in (a) secondary and (b) primary schools in Lancashire.

    Nick Gibb

    The following link provides the pupil to teacher ratio (PTR) in (a) state funded secondary and (b) state funded primary schools in Lancashire local authority and in England for November 2014, the latest information available: https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics/school-workforce-in-england-november-2014

  • William Wragg – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    William Wragg – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by William Wragg on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Education, what were the 10 foreign languages most spoken by pupils for whom English is listed as an additional language in the annual school census in (a) 2000 and (b) 2015; and how many pupils were recorded as speaking each of those languages in each of those years.

    Nick Gibb

    The Department does not hold pupil level data on languages for the year 2000. In the January 2015 school census, the most common languages to which pupils of compulsory school age and above are exposed outside school and the number and proportion of pupils exposed to them are given in the table below.

    Language

    Number of Pupils (1)

    Percentage of all pupils

    English

    5,634,349

    82.1

    Urdu

    123,530

    1.8

    Panjabi

    91,406

    1.3

    Polish

    90,506

    1.3

    Other than English (not specified)

    84,139

    1.2

    Bengali

    74,635

    1.1

    Somali

    46,361

    0.7

    Arabic

    41,951

    0.6

    Gujarati

    40,735

    0.6

    Portuguese

    29,759

    0.4

    Tamil

    29,634

    0.4

    Believed to be other than English (not specified)

    29,221

    0.4

    French

    26,290

    0.4

    Source: School Census January 2015
    (1) Includes sole and dual main registered pupils of compulsory school age and above. Includes pupils in all state-funded schools excluding general hospital schools and local authority alternative provision.

    The languages recorded in the school census only indicate a pupil’s exposure to a non-English language outside of school. They are not a measure of English speaking proficiency, an indication of the language spoken in school, or a direct measure of immigration.

  • Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by Louise Haigh on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Education, what proportion of staff in her Department were (a) payroll and (b) non-payroll staff in each financial year from 2010-11 to 2015-16.

    Nick Gibb

    The information requested is published by the Department on a monthly basis and is available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/dfe-monthly-workforce-management-information which also includes non-Departmental Public Bodies and non-Ministerial Departments across the time period in question.

  • William Wragg – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    William Wragg – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by William Wragg on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Education, with reference to the National pupil projections statistics release, published on 22 July 2015, how many people defined as migrants are included in the principal population projections in each (a) local education authority and (b) region in each year between 2015 and 2024.

    Nick Gibb

    The national pupil projections are only produced for the whole of England and do not break down projected pupil numbers by local education authority or region. They are derived from the 2012-based national population projections for England produced by the Office for National Statistics (ONS)[1] who used assumptions which were considered to best reflect demographic patterns at that time.

    The ONS uses assumptions on the levels of future fertility, net migration and life expectancy in the production of their population projections. They use central assumptions for the principal projections and alternative high and low assumptions to produce variant projections.

    New national pupil projections, based on the ONS’s mid-2014 national population projections[2], are scheduled to be published on 14 July 2016. The timing and content of National Statistics releases are a matter for the Head of Profession for statistics. The month of publication was pre-announced in 2015 and the specific date of publication was pre-announced on 26 February 2016.

    [1] Mid-2012 ONS national population projections available at http://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/populationandmigration/populationprojections/bulletins/nationalpopulationprojections/2013-11-06

    [2] Mid-2014 ONS national population projections available at http://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/populationandmigration/populationprojections/bulletins/nationalpopulationprojections/2015-10-29

  • Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by Louise Haigh on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Education, how many civil servants in her Department are paid through limited companies.

    Nick Gibb

    No civil servants at the Department for Education are employed through limited companies.

    We award contracts to individuals or organisations through their limited companies but the number of those could only be provided at disproportionate costs.

  • Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Education

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by Louise Haigh on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Education, how much was spent on non-payroll staff in her Department in 2015-16.

    Nick Gibb

    The total spent on non-payroll Contingent Labour staff (ie, Agency Staff (Clerical and Admin); Interim Managers; and Specialist Contractors) in the Department for Education and its Executive Agencies is published by the Department for Education on a monthly basis at: https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/dfe-monthly-workforce-management-information which also includes Non Departmental Public Bodies (Equality & Human Rights Commission and Office of the Children’s Commissioner).

  • Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Energy and Climate Change

    Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Energy and Climate Change

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by Louise Haigh on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, how much was spent on non-payroll staff in her Department in 2015-16.

    Andrea Leadsom

    The Department is in the process of finalising its Annual Report and Accounts – the information will be available in public domain in due course.

  • Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Energy and Climate Change

    Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Energy and Climate Change

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by Louise Haigh on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, how many civil servants in her Department are paid through limited companies.

    Andrea Leadsom

    All Civil Servants employed by the Department of Energy and Climate Change are paid through the departmental payroll system and none are paid through limited companies.

  • Paul Flynn – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Energy and Climate Change

    Paul Flynn – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Energy and Climate Change

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by Paul Flynn on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, if she will (a) list the titles of and (b) publish on her Department’s website all reports prepared by (i) officials of her Department and (ii) contractors for her Department since May 2015 on options for financing new nuclear power plants.

    Andrea Leadsom

    The department has retained advisers in relation to this matter, however any reports they have prepared are commercially sensitive.

  • Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Energy and Climate Change

    Louise Haigh – 2016 Parliamentary Question to the Department for Energy and Climate Change

    The below Parliamentary question was asked by Louise Haigh on 2016-06-06.

    To ask the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, what proportion of staff in her Department were (a) payroll and (b) non-payroll staff in each financial year from 2010-11 to 2015-16.

    Andrea Leadsom

    The proportion of staff who were (a) payroll and (b) non-payroll staff as at 31 March in each year from 2010-2011 to 2015-16 is set out in table 1.

    Payroll staff includes permanent staff, Short and Fixed Term Appointments, inward loans and secondments (where on payroll). Non-payroll includes agency staff, specialist contractors and consultants.

    Table 1

    Payroll

    Non-payroll

    2011

    92%

    8%

    2012

    89%

    11%

    2013

    88%

    12%

    2014

    91%

    9%

    2015

    89%

    11%

    2016

    94%

    6%